Theatre Info for the Richmond region

Fifth Annual RTCC Awards

By • Oct 15th, 2012 • Category: News

The Fifth Annual RTCC (Richmond Theatre Critics Circle) Awards Ceremony/Celebration was held at the November Theatre last night. The ceremony was hosted by WRIC news anchor and man-about-town Juan Conde. All event proceeds support The Theatre Artist Fund of Greater Richmond. The ceremony/celebration lasted just over four hours, but everyone had a grand time reliving the last year’s shows.

The ceremony was live-tweeted by ShowBizRadio editor Laura Clark. Later today we’ll be publishing the thoughts of our two Richmond area reviewers as well as interviews that were conducted with award recipients. ShowBizRadio is excited to be covering theater in the vibrant Richmond region.

Best Supporting Actress (Musical)

  • Christie Jackson, Spring Awakening

Best Actress in a Supporting Role (Play)

  • Katie McCall, August: Osage County

Outstanding Achievement in Costume Design

  • Holly Sullivan, The Rocky Horror Show

Outstanding Achievement in Lighting Design

  • Joe Doran, The 39 Steps (Swift Creek Mill Theatre)

Best Musical Direction

  • Ben Houghton, My Fair Lady

Best Choreography

  • Maggie Marlin, The Rocky Horror Show

Outstanding Achievement in Fight Choreography

  • Kevin Inouye, The Tragedy of Macbeth

Outstanding Achievement in Stage Magic

  • Tom Width (numerous productions)

Outstanding Achievement in Set Design

  • Phil Hayes, August: Osage County

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design

  • Paul Deiss, It’s A Wonderful Life (Swift Creek Mill Theatre)

Best Supporting Actor (Musical)

  • Nicholas Aliff, The Rocky Horror Show

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Play)

  • Matthew Mitchell, Kimberly Akimbo

Liz Marks Memorial Award for Ongoing Contribution to Richmond Area Theater

  • Jeri Cutler-Voltz

Ernie McClintock Best Ensemble Award

  • God of Carnage, Virginia Repertory Theatre

Best Locally-Developed New Work

  • Brew: Locally Grown Stories rom the Richmond Coffee Community, Stage B Theatre Company

Best Actress (Musical)

  • Stacey Cabaj, My Fair Lady

Best Actress (Play)

  • Melissa Johnston Price, August: Osage County

Best Actor (Musical)

  • Terence Sullivan, The Rocky Horror Show

Best Actor (Play)

  • Ryan Bechard, Macbeth

The People’s Choice Award

  • Dessa Rose, Richmond CenterStage / Firehouse Theatre Project

Best Direction (Musical)

  • Chase Kniffen, Spring Awakening

Best Direction (Play)

  • Jan Powell, Macbeth

Best Musical

  • Spring Awakening, Virginia Repertory Theatre

Best Play

  • August: Osage County, Cadence Theatre / Virginia Repertory Theatre

Congratulations to all the winners. The full list of nominees is also available.

This article can be linked to as:

has performed in local productions, but prefers to be behind the scenes. Mike earned a Career Studies Certificate in Theater from Northern Virginia Community College. Mike is a member of the American Theatre Critics Association and the Online News Association.

Comments are closed.